Senioritis – My daughter turned 18

29 Mar

Good news and bad news, my daughter turned 18. The good news is she is still at home, she’s a high school senior so we have her with us for a few more months. More good news she got into five colleges including her first two choices.

20140329_162956

Today it is raining and overcast but the snow is likely over until next Fall at the earliest. My daughter is on a band trip in Orlando, hopefully having a great time at Disney World, they performed in one of the Theme Parks today.

The bad news, my daughter turned 18. Since she’s our youngest, what does that mean? Does that make me old, well certainly a bit older and a tad grayer than when she was born? So far it seems ok, yet she is no longer a child, though I can still remember holding her on my shoulder in church while I balanced a hymnal and sang joyfully.

She will have to choose between some pretty good colleges, we are of course very proud of her, she has worked really hard.

The rain means, though my daughter is away and I don’t have to take her to play soccer or in an Ultimate tournament or…, that I also can’t take some of my “found” time to get my spring vegetables planted, or do a bit of trimming of the shrubs that need pruning.

More good news – I can see and sit on my sofa. It seems like it has been covered for a couple of years, well at least partially by daughter’s school books and assorted papers or her laptop, or English assignments, then there are the Spanish articles, the annotated notes, first draft, second draft, band schedules, and of course my daughter spends several hours a day sitting in the corner with her laptop and mobile phone reviewing, writing, researching.

20140329_163043

The bad news is it gets a bit quiet when our busy high school senior is away even when it is only for four days. We miss our sofa, but I think we will miss our daughter even more.

Related see – Senioritis Checklist – Parent Version – Updated 2.17.14

One Response to “Senioritis – My daughter turned 18”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Holidays from a Personal Historian | Summers "Engagement" Consulting - December 30, 2014

    […] The first half of 2014 was filled with expectations as my youngest child waited for college acceptance letters – yea or nay, with mostly yeas from good schools. I think I suffered more from the parent version of “senioritus” than she did from the high school senior version. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

