Mother’s Day – Unique Gift

6 May

Sometimes I get to see my mother on Mother’s Day, and sometimes I can not. I propose a unique gift for your Mom – an hour of time as an active listener or perhaps four hours of time of asking questions about her life stories spread throughout the year.

10470171_790404754323810_1159196822803293323_o Jane Summers talks about her grandmother Lizzie, she made quilts for all nine grandchildren

Mother’s Day and Memories

As a professional personal historian, this is an easy gift for me to give my Mom.  Every time I visit my parents I have my digital voice recorder in my pocket all charged up and waiting for the right moment for some quality active listening time, and there are always more of stories to ask about. Some are favorites that I have heard partially before. Some are new stories about her childhood, about her family, about her Mom and her Grandmothers. What did she make or bake for those Sunday lunches? What did it smell like?

Thanksgiving checklist: cranberry salsa, bread, and the Voice Recorder App.

Thanksgiving Weekend update

Sometimes we talk about interesting episodes.  I love her stories about her adventures with mice.  My Mom was always afraid of mice, my three brothers an I always knew this, but it was not until a few years ago that I sat down with Mom and asked why. Then I got the real stories.

There were two mice, different generations, two different houses, three hundred yards apart…

Even if you don’t have a digital voice recorder, though they are usually reasonably priced for about $100, you likely have a voice recording app on your Smart phone.  This also works great for recording a few Mom stories during your next visit.

If you need help with questions, of if you need help from a professional Personal Historian, then check out the Association of Personal Historians website.  We are the Life Story people with thousands of years of experience helping families record and share stories about Moms (and Dads) and other loved ones.

Have a great Mother’s Day. I would love to hear about your experiences – listening to Mom stories:) Just add a comment or send me an email.

Bruce

Bruce Summers is a Personal Historian at Summoose Tales and a global board member and Regions Director of the Association of Personal Histories, summersbw@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

