Martin Luther King Jr. Photos and Volunteering

18 Jan

20131110_214517 MLK 4 Full length front

Martin Luther King Jr. died when I was 10 years old. Bobby Kennedy was also killed in 1968 and his brother John F. Kennedy in 1963. I tried to understand what was going on in our country.  Why did these three inspirational leaders have to die?

20131110_215110

As an adult I entered the United States Peace Corps, in part perhaps inspired to volunteer to give back to my fellow man by these three leaders. For many years I worked in and with nonprofits and churches often as an employee, but also often as a volunteer.

20131110_215012 MLK - I have the Audacity to believe

As a nonprofit executive my focus shifted to empowering and engaging volunteers to building community, to strengthening connections, to improving collaboration. As a volunteer with the Association of Personal Historians, I continue to work to empower and engage volunteers to work through chapters and regions to help personal historians strengthen their skills to capture and share life stories, memories, experiences and lessons learned from one generation to succeeding generations.

20131110_205606 MLK - at Lincoln Memorial

Martin Luther King Jr. had a dream, he inspired thousands during his life time. He still inspires me and many millions more after his death. I hope he inspires you to give, to serve, and to volunteer.

20131110_205551 cropped Lincoln Memorial - MLK speech

Integrated in this article are a few photos I took at the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial and the Lincoln Memorial, I hope you have a chance to travel and visit these sites and that you are equally inspired by Dr. King and his legacy.

20131110_214526 MLK 3

Bruce Summers is a Personal Historian with Summoose Tales and serves on the Board of the Association of Personal Historians and as their volunteer director for Chapters & Regions, summersbw@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

